#1 bluewater

bluewater

Old as the hills

• ASDf Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Interests:Outdoor activities

Posted 15 September 2016 - 03:44 AM

We have a situation where ds1 is now LAC away from home. Part of this was due to his behaviour at home. Since leaving home (and actually well before) he had basically rejected us. He communicates with husband via i-message if he wants something, but otherwise has rejected most communication, especially initiated by us. My husband has tried to meet him and he has refused.

We then received an email from SW yesterday accusing us of doing nothing to rehabilitate him home!

We have obviously had no support of any sort, we have been to see CAMHS, who won't help because he is out of their area, and have no idea what else we can do?

#2 caci

caci

How many posts? Get a life!

• ASDf Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,811 posts

Posted 15 September 2016 - 10:22 AM

I have no experience at all of this, but didn't want to read and run.

I know a few of people in group have LACs, but I am not sure if they will have realised what your message is about from the title. If you don't get any replies after a few days, it might be worth re-posting with 'LAC' as the title ?

#3 apricot

apricot

Old as the hills

• ASDf Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • Interests:Walking our labrador, Ben.

Posted 15 September 2016 - 11:08 AM

I usually turn this sort of thing back on the culprit.

i.e.

Thank you for your email. We would welcome any practical suggestions from you on how to help DS come home.

CAMHS refuse to see him as he is out of our area.  Can you get our CAMHS to change their decision? Can you refer him to CAMHS in the LAC area? 

DS refuses to make contact with us - list examples of DS refusing contact. Can you get DS to co-operate? 

Can you provide any other support?