4 replies to this topic

#1 HappyFlapping

HappyFlapping

Just arrived (be nice to me!)

• ASDf Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 January 2016 - 10:59 AM

I've been working with a child for a few years and he has made excellent progress, his parents are really happy with how things are going. And I've recently been diagnosed with autism. I'm unsure if this means I'm not really (and have never) been suitable for the job.
I can see positives to it. It means I can understand him on a level other staff can't. When he tells me the colours/smells are "too loud" I completely get it. When he says his clothes are itchy I understand they're probably hurting him and he'll be able to concentrate on his work better if I let him shuffle his clothes for a while to get comfy then continue his work. I know that far from distracting him, rolling bluetack in his fingers is keeping him grounded and might actually be the only thing allowing him to listen. I understand why he gets frustrated in group work because all the noise of all the groups blurs into one roar and it's impossible to pick out one voice because it's happening to me too! But then I thought about how rolling bluetack is not considered 'normal' and how while he's young it's ok but when he's 17 it might look odd. I would never ever attempt to take away his bluetack. Because I understand. But should I take it? Would a neurotypical 1:1 take it? I'm now totally confused over little things like that where I wouldn't question comment or interfere because I comply understand but other people won't and maybe if his 1:1 wasnt autistic they'd do something different. That's the crux of it. I'm worried my behavior with him is due to my autism and a neurotypical 1:1 would do things differently. Better? While I've never believed my job is to make him 'pass' as neurotypical it would obviously be easier for him if he could. I speak from experience there!