Photo

Disabled Facilities Grant

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 sam123

sam123

Settled in nicely (I'm getting the hang of this...)

• ASDf Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 30 April 2009 - 07:09 PM

Hi, i am new to this and just wanted some advice really about the dfg

my 4 year old son is autistic, has adhd and severe learning difficulties, he also has a sensory impairment and delayed speech.

i have applied for a dgf for an upstairs bathroom as i dont have one and my son has lots of night terrors and is incontinent because of this. I need to take him to the toilet but i cant because he wont go downstairs due to his fear and i dont a bathroom upstairs. He has to be supervised at all times so cant go on his own, ialso have 2 other children so cant leave them on their own, one is 18months and the other is 1 month old.

i have also applied for an archway between 2 reception rooms because this will allow me to supervise my son whilst i am in the kitchen and he can let of steam and run around. something he cant do now.

both these 2 things will make my home a safter place for my son

i have been told the dfg's for autistic/adhd children dont usually get accepted!!

can someone help me as to what i could say to try and persuade o.t to say yes? i have an appointment soon......

p.s also does anyone know where i could get any funding with damp proofing? i have tried everything, no one is willing to help, i have to have lived in my house which i own for 3 yrs to get help from council but i havent been there that long....

can anyone help? i am in a desperate situation...

#2 Miss Mac

Miss Mac

A National Treasure

• Admin
  • 8,145 posts
  • Interests:Escapism

Posted 30 April 2009 - 07:34 PM